Where can I find some actual getting started examples?

I am just in the process of releasing an open source project that makes using cryptography very easy. The code all runs on Windows under .NET 4.6. Source is available at:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/mathematicalmesh/

How do I get started running the code on Linux or OSX? All I can find are the ‘ten minutes’ examples on dotnet.github.io.

Now please don’t take this the wrong way but I have been a computer professional over 35 years now. I am very active in IETF, I was one of the contributors to the original HTTP specification. I have been using .NET since the earliest release. And those examples don’t mean a damn thing to me. Absolutely nothing. Yes, bootstrap makes them look good but I have no idea what the context is. Am I supposed to type them into the command line? If so it didn’t work. Is Visual Studio Code involved? There is no hint.

And no, the examples do not run. Not even close. I have no idea what is going on.

What I am looking for is a guide that tells me how to configure an OSX or Linux box so that it will run code that passes the portability analyzer in Visual Studio 2015 Community Edition.

@Phill_Hallam_Baker sorry that you’ve had trouble finding what you need. Docs and samples are still very much a work-in-progress at this time. We will eventually have an article which covers how to port existing libraries to .NET Core, but for the time being hopefully I can help you out here.

It sounds like you’re interested in targeting both .NET Framework and .NET Core (therefore supporting Linux and OS X). If so, here’s a quick rundown of what you’ll need to do:

1. Run the API Port tool to determine portability of the current project
  2. Analyze the generated report to see if you can provide any workarounds for incompatible APIs used (if any)
  3. Move any tests over to either Xunit or Nunit (MSTest doesn’t support .NET Core)