Dotnet abort trap:6 on macOS Sierra

Hi - it seems like dotnet cli is broken on Sierra. I’ve filed some issues in github. See relevant output and clues below.
Pretty much a show stopping bug for me (as you can imagine)

Question: This is my first attempt at rebuilding a dotnet custom cli with some temporary fixes. I am familiar with github and open source development though. The code I want to tweak is in core-setup to build a patched dotnet cli. So I cloned and built with build.sh per instructions - it fails:

Publishing Archiver
             /Users/me/Dev/dotnet/cli/tools/Archiver> /Users/me/Dev/dotnet/cli/artifacts/osx.10.12-x64/stage2/dotnet publish  --configuration Debug    --output /Users/me/Dev/dotnet/cli/artifacts/osx.10.12-x64/tools
             Can not find runtime target for framework '.NETCoreApp,Version=v1.0' compatible with one of the target runtimes: 'osx.10.12-x64'. Possible causes:
             1. The project has not been restored or restore failed - run `dotnet restore`
             2. The project does not list one of 'osx.10.12-x64' in the 'runtimes' section.
             3. You may be trying to publish a library, which is not supported. Use `dotnet pack` to distribute libraries.
         1>/Users/me/Dev/dotnet/cli/build/compile/Microsoft.DotNet.Cli.LzmaArchive.targets(28,7): error MSB6006: "dotnet" exited with code 1. [/Users/me/Dev/dotnet/cli/build.proj]
         1>Done Building Project "/Users/me/Dev/dotnet/cli/build.proj" (default targets) -- FAILED.

Build FAILED.

"/Users/me/Dev/dotnet/cli/build.proj" (default target) (1) ->
           (GenerateNuGetPackagesArchive target) ->
             /Users/me/Dev/dotnet/cli/build/compile/Microsoft.DotNet.Cli.LzmaArchive.targets(28,7): error MSB6006: "dotnet" exited with code 1. [/Users/me/Dev/dotnet/cli/build.proj]

0 Warning(s)
        1 Error(s)

So a few issues:

1 - which ‘runtimes’ section is missing osx.10.12.-x64 ?